Skip to content

Vipassana keeps me sane

October 25, 2007

A good advice you could always expect from a serious Vipassana meditator: daily practice. But it is always easier to say than to practice, at least in my case. After every course I go home with strong determination to strive to sit everyday. Yet, after some time my discipline will wane and after a while I will not come to sitting at all.However, during stressful period like now, deadlines and more deadlines ahead, I realize that I return to daily meditation automatically. Not because of any strong will, but out of necessity. I can not handle stress very well, distress will lead to one physical complain of another. In the past I had such a terrible sour stomach, it was so bad that I could not sleep for a few nights. My stomach problem is definitely stress-related. A couple of days ago when I was at work I noticed that I have more peptic acid production, I could taste it in my mouth. I know it is an alarm signal, I need to cope with my stress before it gets the upper hand and turns my stomach (and my life) upside down. For me it means daily meditation. It doesn’t matter whether I do it once or twice a day, 30 minutes or 1 hour each, as long as I keep daily practice my stress is manageable.They say by practicing meditation daily, someday you will reach nibbana (Pali, or nirvana in Sanskrit). It sounds very nice; yet, my personal reason is a pragmatic one: Vipassana keeps me sane.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Phoenix permalink
    January 30, 2009 13:36

    🙂 Exactly my words!
    Vipassana keeps me sane – I always find myself going back to meditation too – everytime I do not like what is happening around me or to me!

    – Phoenix

  2. February 5, 2009 21:48

    glad that you have similar experience! Thank you for your visit🙂

Leave a Reply

