Skip to content

Babel

January 15, 2007

I just finished watching Babel, the new film of Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu and Guillermo Ariaga. I watched their other movie Amores Perros as well. Yet, Babel is to me more disturbing. Maybe disturbing is not the right word, I don’t know. It makes me sit quietly, probably I won’t be able to fall asleep right away afterwards.

As the title suggesting Babel in my opinion is a glimpse of our own life, or should I say tragedy? It’s a rich movie which just like a good book deserves another read. The drama of our daily life hits me right through, we may talk the same language but we do not communicate. In fact we are so busy talking all the time that we do not listen. Do we forget how to listen? Or worse, we didn’t even bother to learn.

You’d better watch it yourself. Perhaps you will see something else.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2007 01:31

    I thought Babel was excellent. Perhaps a little slow paced for some tastes and does not deliver any great “aha” moment, but it is life in all it s ironic sadness.

    Neath

  2. January 16, 2007 15:19

    I think i am so busy blogging all the time that i never listen😛
    I will watch it someday🙂

    Btw, I can you tell me more about the solution that you said on my blog.

  3. January 23, 2007 11:06

    Thanks for the review. Im so gonna watch this movie soon😛

  4. January 23, 2007 11:21

    Is “Amores Perros” same with “Love is a Bitch”? If it is, then it’s a really great movie! If you said Babel is more disturbing than Amores Perros, then it must be even a better movie.

  5. January 23, 2007 12:17

    uzi: both are great, Babel is better IMO🙂

Leave a Reply

