Skip to content

Proposition: nothing is what it seems

October 3, 2005

Yesterday I did some chatting and heard some “weird” remarks,

+ Well, I’m not a vegetarian anymore, since I also eat eggs and dairy products. It makes me an octovegetarian, right?
– As you wish…
+ And I still use leather, too. Not the ones made of snake of crocodile though.
– OK, and why is that?
+ They don’t look nice. You know that I judge everything from the appearance.
– Hmmm… (I wonder whether the adage nothing is what it seems never reaches her ears)

Is it wise to hold such opinion in this era? I suppose it wasn’t, it isn’t and it will never be,
especially not after the 2nd Bali bombing last weekend;
especially not after the rise of oil prices of up to 180% in Indonesia;
especially not after watching “Paradise Now” (Hany Abu-Assad, 2005);
especially not after the colonization of Iraq since March 2003;

Sunk in thoughts, yet without a cup of coffee, I listen to this song…

Madonna “American life” (abridged)

Do I have to change my name?
Will it get me far?
Should I lose some weight?
Am I gonna be a star?

I tried to be a boy,
I tried to be a girl
I tried to be a mess,
I tried to be the best

I tried to stay ahead,
I tried to stay on top
I tried to play the part,
But somehow I forgot
Just what I did it for
And why I wanted more

I got a lawyer and a manager
An agent and a chef
Three nannies, an assistant
And a driver and a jet
A trainer and a butler
And a bodyguard or five
A gardener and a stylist
Do you think I’m satisfied?

I’m just living out the American dream
And I just realized that nothing is what it seems

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

